China-Africa Universities 20+20 Cooperation Plan

The Chinese Ministry of Education launched "China-Africa Universities 20+20 Cooperation Plan" in 2010. Twenty Chinese universities, including Beijing University and Tsinghua University, were chosen to cooperate with 20 African counterparts. Xiangtan University was twinned with Makerere University of Uganda, East Africas premiere institution of higher learning.

The Cooperation Plan last for three years and Xiangtan University has been involved twice. Adhering to the Chinese diplomatic concepts of "Kindness, Integrity, Benefit, and Tolerance", the Xiangtan-Makerere University cooperation targets to discipline construction, scientific research, and university management and operations. Chinese and Ugandan enterprises, governmental departments and institutions concerned are expected to be involved in the cooperative effort in order to promote friendly exchanges and cooperation between the two countries. It promises to be a win-win result with mutual benefits for all parties.