Home / News / News

Doctoral Candidate Zhang Weibing from the School of Material and Phoelectronic Physics of XTU receiv


Recently, we got good news from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation of Germany, that Doctoral candidate Zhang Weibing from the class of 2006 of the School of Material and Phoelectronic Physics has won a fund from this foundation. Mr. Zhang is the first doctoral candidate to receive such kind of fund since the founding of the XTU. After the oral defense, Zhang Weibing will pursue his postdoctoral studies at the Fritz-Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society in Germany. And his co-operating teacher will be Dr. Karsten Reuter.


Mr. Zhang Weibing started his undergraduate studies in the School of Material and Phoelectronic Physics of XTU in 2000, and was recommended to take up postgraduate studies in the field of Condensed Matter Physics in 2004. In 2006, he became an MD-PhD student under the tutorship of Prof. Tang Biyu. During his studies here, Mr. Zhang already published more than 10 papers as the first author on international authoritative physics journal like Appl.Phys.Lett.,Phys.Rev.B. Five of his papers are of more than 3.0 in Impact Factors. His total Impact Factors reaches 28.0.


The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation was set up in 1860 in Berlin in memory of the great German scientist Alexander von Humboldt. This is an international foundation of high academic reputation. Its headquarters locates in Bonn, Germany. It is mainly funded by the German government. The main task of this foundation is to promote academic exchanges and cooperation between scientists from all over the world. The assessment and approval process of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is very strict. A Central Selection Committee of this foundation composed of 100 German scientists from various disciplines would conduct the selection process under the leadership of the chairperson of the DFG. The granting of scholarships is not restricted by professional fields, nationalities, gender, race, world view or religious belief. The only requirement is the applicant’s academic level and research competence. Every year, only 60 to 70 Chinese scholars are able to apply to this foundation. The Chinese scholars that receive funds from this foundation include famous scientists such as He Zehui, Li Guohao, Lu Yongxiang, Wei Yu and so on.


Graduate Student Council
League Committee of the Graduate Students
March 17, 2009
Correspondent: Zhang Ying